Happy 2011 New Year for all humans of any biocultural adaptation to the various Earth’s geographic environments – along with two comments regarding the statement against racism of 5th October 2010 

Dear friends of anthropology,

During the Antalya Inter-Congress and the IUAES General Assembly in the 5th October 2010 a draft of the IUAES Statement on ‘Race’ and Racism (: http://www.aee.gr/hellenic/1st%20month/10/101201/IUAES%20Statement%20on%20Racism.htm or http://www.glocol.osaka-u.ac.jp/iuaes/statement/race.html) was presented to the participating anthropologists. The decision and voting was postponed in order the final text to be further elaborated. This statement arrived on the 19th November 2010 by e-mail also to Athens. Two days later it was forwarded to the president of the European Anthropological Association Prof. Nickolas Mascie-Taylor on the basis of the herewith-attached e-mail. Until the end of 2010 any reply was yet given, neither via mail nor via fax. However it is known that the president of EAA is travelling a lot and probably is missing from England. On the other hand because the next Inter-Congress at Calcutta will take place on middle February 2011, leaving less than two months of time for improving the statement, the above-referred e-mail, along with two additional comments, is sent to the bellow referred scholars, editors and institutions.

 

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS

 

 The IUAES draft of statement presents some uncertainties. P. ex. - A. In the introductive paragraph is written: Nineteenth and early twentieth century categories of ‘Race‘, which today have little or no scientific merit… – In fact it could have either little or no scientific merit, since otherwise sub enters the imprecision. B. In the 1st paragraph there is: Much of the biological variation among populations involves modest degrees of diversity in the frequency of shared traits. – Therefore either exist measurable (even modest) biological differences (which cannot be of any scientific merit) or there are not at all.

 To my understanding the main goal of the statement is to deny and finally exorcise any biological difference among humans, in order to fight racial doctrines and practices. The question is whether the best way is followed for such a purpose? Therefore along with the wishes for a Happy New Year let me please you to contribute with further and more clarifying notes on our IUAES proposition to the United Nations.  

            Sincerely yours Nickos A. Poulianos   

 

akorotayev@mail.ru; lgrinin@mail.ru; gregory.acciaioli@uwa.edu.au; roudnev@mail.ru; mf11@mail.ru; zhzhrm@263.net; glhaiting2007@sina.com; cristina.amescua@gmail.com; hassenchoubani@gmail.com; martynova@iea.ras.ru; congress7@list.ru; sozbudun@hotmail.com; arefabu@gmail.com; popoff@kunstkamera.ru; ceyhansuvari@gmail.com; elifkanca@gmail.com; kdelibas@adu.edu.tr; marcello.mollica@unifr.ch; i.pardo@kent.ac.uk; abuelabas@hotmail.com; buddhadebc@gmail.com; 1336@rambler.ru; l.Bakker@jur.ru.nl, iuaes.s-g@glocol.osaka-u.ac.jp, koizumi@hq.osaka-u.ac.jp, buddhadebc@gmail.com, sumita_chau@hotmail.com, gargisubir@gmail.com, Anna Siniarska-Wolanska <a.siniarska@uksw.edu.pl>, aclavero@ub.edu, afnazar@yandex.ru>, agnieszka.suder@poczta.fm, alaitz.poveda@ehu.es, Alicja Szklarska <Alicja.Szklarska@antro.pan.wroc.pl>, aline.jelenkovic@ehu.es, Anne-Marie Tillier <am.tillier@anthropologie.u-bordeaux1.fr>, ambpp@amu.edu.pl, Eugene Kobyliansky <anatom14@post.tau.ac.il>, and.battistini@libero.it, angelika_b1983@op.pl, ania_mucha@op.pl, aniol.p@gmail.com, Anita Szwed <aniszwed@amu.edu.pl>, anna.lipowicz@antro.pan.wroc.pl, Anna Pastuszak <anna.pastuszak@awf.edu.pl>, antonio.piedade@fc.ul.pt, antonio.santangelo@yahoo.it, arkadiusz.wrebiak@uj.edu.pl, b.stepanczak@uj.edu.pl, banitajg@op.pl, bhulanicka@antro.pan.wroc.pl, Pavel Blaha <blaha@natur.cuni.cz>, Blanka Mrowicka <blanka@amu.edu.pl>, Boguslaw Pawlowski <bogus@antropo.uni.wroc.pl>, bourdie1952@yahoo.es, candelariahernandez@bio.ucm.es, Carme Rissech <carme.rissech@ub.edu>, caroline.rijkers@gmail.com, casadalama@hotmail.com, Joachim Cieslik <cieslik@amu.edu.pl>, Krystyna Cieslik <cieslik@awf.poznan.pl>, cristina.muja@gmail.com, Zbigniew Czapla <czapla@amu.edu.pl>, Urszula Czerniak <czerniak@awf.poznan.pl>, Danuta Penkala-Gawecka <danagaw@amu.edu.pl>, dareczekwielinski@wp.pl, dassumon10@yahoo.com, demuth@awf.poznan.pl, Denise Navitainuck <Denise_Navitainuck@gmx.de>, dian85@web.de, drozdova@sci.muni.cz, e.zadzinska@biol.uni.lodz.pl, egrzych@op.pl, ekaterinapermyakova@gmail.com, elena.ivanova27@gmail.com, Elise Seip Tonnessen <elise.s.tonnessen@uia.no>, emka@antropo.uni.wroc. pl, emma.rabino@unito.it, epidemiologia@ump.edu.pl, Esther REBATO <esther.rebato@ehu.es>, eszczepan@poczta.onet.pl, flavio.de.angelis@uniroma2.it, frkvicki@hotmail.com, Magdalena Kosinska <gdusia@amu.edu.pl>, ghanbarzadeh213@gmail.com, Guido Krisel <gkriesel@biol.uni.torun.pl>, godina@antropos.msu.ru, Grazyna Liczbinska <grazyna@amu.edu.pl>, gulec@humanity.ankara.edu.tr, H.Schutkowski@bradford.ac.uk, Hanna Mankowska-Pliszka <hannahmiriam@wp.pl>, hcpetersen@stat.sdu.dk, "Henke, Prof. Dr. Winfried" <henkew@uni-mainz.de>, Henryk Glab <henryg@wp.pl>, hermanussen.aschauhof@t-online.de, horgabi2008@gmail.com, humanbiology@bio.uniroma2.it, ida.westh@jubii.dk, Zofia Ignasiak <ignzof@awf.wroc.pl>, iva.dostalova@upol.cz, Jadwiga Charzewska <j.charzewska@izz.waw.pl>, jadwiga.pietraszewska@awf.wroc.pl, Jacek Tomczyk <jaktom@post.pl>, Janina <janina.tutkuviene@mf.vu.lt>, Jesper Lier Boldsen <JBoldsen@health.sdu.dk>, jmgalletero@avancesmedicos.es, joanna.lewandowska@awf.edu.pl, johannamorgan@hotmail.de, jonnanielsen60@yahoo.com, k.boberova@email.cz, karkus@apaczai.elte.hu, katarzyna.grobarczyk@uj.edu.pl, kazuo816@mbox.kyoto-inet.or.jp, kgornik@o2.pl, kholl06@student.sdu.dk, khomyakova@antropos.msu.ru, kkro@mti.uni-jena.de, koca@humanity.ankara.edu.tr, koichi.nariyama@gmail.com, Konrad.Zellner@mti.uni-jena.de, Danuta Kornafel <korda@antropo.uni.wroc.pl>, Magdalena Krzykala <krzykala@awf.poznan.pl>, leucosolenia@gmail.com, linazabuliene@gmail.com, lkryst@poczta.onet.pl, louisevigen@hotmail.com, "Lisiunia (Lisa) Romanienko" <lroman@ix.netcom.com>, luptakova@fns.uniba.sk, Maria Kaczmarek <makac@amu.edu.pl>, malgorzata.kepa@uj.edu.pl, maniol@ifa.amu.edu.pl, mann@princeton.edu, Marek Drozdowski <marekdr@wp.pl>, mariannarinaldi@alice.it, marielvatorino@libero.it, Magda Skrzypczak <maskrz@amu.edu.pl>, masuyo.nakanishi@gmail.com, mathieu.roelants@vub.ac.be, mdurda@amu.edu.pl, me-ibanez@hotmail.com, medigion@poczta.onet.pl, meyerc@uni-mainz.de, Michal Zivny <Michal.Zivny@osu.cz>, mino@spo.osaka-sandai.ac.jp, miroslava.pridalova@upol.cz, mizohata@kwansei.ac.jp, "N.Cameron" <N.Cameron@lboro.ac.uk>, Professor C G Nicholas Mascie-Taylor ScD <nmt1@cam.ac.uk>, Krzysztof Lastowski <oklaski@amu.edu.pl>, olalla lopez costas <olallalc@gmail.com>, omlauritzen@hotmail.com, orchis@o2.pl, Wieslaw Osinski <osinski@awf.poznan.pl>, ozda@amu.edu.pl, ozer@humanity.ankara.edu.tr, paolo@antropo.uni.wroc.pl, papai.julia@nupi.hu, Alexander Pashos <pashos@zedat.fu-berlin.de>, Petr Kutac <Petr.Kutac@osu.cz>, piabennike@gmail.com, pola.awf@op.pl, Peter Tarp <ptarp@health.sdu.dk>, Rosario Calderon <rcalfer@bio.ucm.es>, renatopolimanti@alice.it, rimantas.jankauskas@mf.vu.lt, rmalina@skyconnect.net, sagir@humanity.ankara.edu.tr, sannae@unica.it, sarapiacentini@libero.it, satake.takashi@nihon-u.ac.jp>, sivakova@fns.uniba.sk, Slawomir Koziel <slawek@antro.pan.wroc.pl>, Teresa Slawinska-Ochla <sloter@awf.wroc.pl>, srodriguezylopez@gmail.com, Pernille Dahl Pedersen <stud20071750@hum.au.dk>, Andrej Suchomlinov <suchomlinov@yahoo.com>, szabo.attila@nupi.hu, szabryna@gmail.com, krzysiek szostek <szosy@wp.pl>, tatjana.robic@bf.uni-lj.si, tereza.rezkova@email.cz, tgul@humanity.ankara.edu.tr, Tomasz Han <tomekh@amu.edu.pl>, tpitsios@med.uoa.gr, umiastowscy@neostrada.pl, vfuster@bio.ucm.es, vitalyosgaboraron@gmail.com, vona@unica.it, wacichoc@cyfronet.pl, Malgorzata Waszak <waszak@awf.poznan.pl>, weise@demogr.mpg.de, wilota@antropo.uni.wroc.pl, wnowacz@wp.pl, wscheffrahn@gmail.com, ybektas@humanity.ankara.edu.tr, z.koldin@gmail.com, zarghami26@gmail.com, ziolkowska@awf.poznan.pl, Zsakai Annamaria <zsakaia@elte.hu>, zubareva.vera@yandex.ru, as well as IUAES 2008 - China, Fisicheskaya Anthropologia - Moscow, Current Anthropology - USA.